THE SINNERS’ LAMENT

Last night, I had an awful dream that the end of time had come.

The trumpet had been sounded and life on Earth was done.

An Angel stood one foot on land and another foot on sea.

And as I tried to kneel and pray, a Voice said unto me,

“It’s standing room! No time for woes! It’s much too late to pray!

It’s standing room! It’s time to go! This is God’s great Judgment Day!”

People filled the churches as far as eyes could see.

I heard a cry for mercy then realized it was me.

I saw the Savior then appear as He split the Eastern sky.

There were tears of joy on a Christian’s face yet I saw the sinners cry.

I tried to touch His Holy hand and with one last feeble plea

I cried again, “Have mercy, Lord! Have mercy, Lord, on me!”

I saw a tear come to His eye as He turned my soul away.

I didn’t know Him yesterday, so He knew me not today.

The Earth was burning all around and the world went up in smoke,

And as the flames engulfed me, I thanked God that I awoke.

I got out my bed and on my knees and you should have heard me pray

For in my dream I saw the fate of God’s great Judgement Day.

 

  An excerpt from the testimony of Howard Pittman – author of the book, Placebo.

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think. Thank you!

